Author Topic: Safety Question  (Read 2441 times)

Offline DigitalSignalNewb-cessingTopic starter

Safety Question
« on: December 15, 2021, 06:04:15 pm »
Hello,

I work in a university and have started being responsible for monthly safety inspections. Mostly these are supposed to cover WHMIS, tripping hazards, fire safety, making sure everyone has appropriate training, equipment is maintained, etc. I have some electronics background but not a lot. I found the following piece of equipment shown in the attached photo. It is a power cord that has been cut and made to go into banana cable jacks. My understanding its original purpose may have been to use with a variac (variable transformer) to allow various meters to be plugged into AC circuits...but I have a strong suspicion it is currently being used to plug directly into a wall outlet.

Is this safe?  Are there better options? I know in research often custom equipment is needed, and maybe this type of adapter is common practice? This is not a teaching lab, but undergraduate researchers are still hired and work in this space in the summer. I am worried that they might not know dangers of using something like this. I am out of my depth and wanted to get some advice on what best practices are for these types of adapters. Should it at least have a warning sign?

I am in Canada if it makes a difference. Any advice any of you can give me would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Offline BrokenYugo

• Super Contributor
Re: Safety Question
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2021, 06:11:03 pm »
I wouldn't call that safe, I believe the technical term is "suicide cord".

Even if it is kept from people who are unfamiliar with the hazards it's a super sketchy implementation. Like at least use a box and shrouded jacks...
« Last Edit: December 15, 2021, 06:13:43 pm by BrokenYugo »

Offline m k

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2021, 06:14:01 pm »
Variac must be isolated.

It's generally unsafe all the time, no matter what.