Author Topic: Set me straight here. High powered LED lamp? Is this feasible?  (Read 4618 times)

Offline beelzebozoTopic starter

Hi, beginner here,

A bit of a background. I'm an engineer by training. However, apart from the courses I had in the university I've never actually worked electrical engineering, I went into software development right after getting my degree. Cut to 15 years later I've been rediscovering my electrical roots lately with a project I've come across somewhat accidentally. After discovering that we have a local LED producer that was manufacturing 155lm/w LED strips I decided to build a 50000lm lighting fixture.

Basically it goes like this. I've picked the strips. 10 of them. 72 V, 0.4A each. Now how do i drive them? After searching a bunch,  I've decided that TI's LM3464 in cascade configuration will be easy enough and efficient enough. This however presupposes that I have a 350W power supply, that outputs like 70 to 80VDC,  that supports Dynamic Headroom Control (DHC). As of now I havent been able to find supply with such a feature, as far as I can tell one must build one themselves.

So I'm hoping I can find some reference design, after finding out what DHC is, and calculate it to my specs, then find someone more experienced to build it, after I've made all the design and calculations. The same goes for the actual LED drivers (LM3464). I've no practical experience, no lab, most of my theoretical background needs to be reaquired, and I am not willing to spend boatload of money paying someone to design and build this.

And here comes my question. Is this even feasible to attempt? As I am in the beginning of all this it all seems like a bunch of math and a reading on the internet. Both I can do. However, what I don't know is what bugs me. Do you feel, from what you've read this far that this is something that can be accomplished? It's two PCB's one of which is a SMPS with as of yet unknown feature... It does seem a lot.

Thanks!