Author Topic: Connecting audio output to oscilloscope  (Read 11380 times)

Offline CykarTopic starter

• Contributor
Connecting audio output to oscilloscope
« on: May 28, 2019, 08:40:13 am »
I'm a novice when it comes to oscilloscopes.
I recently got one, an old cro, which I intend to use for chasing signals, as well as trying some oscilloscope music - basically using synthesised audio to draw patterns on the oscilloscope using X-Y mode

(Jerobeam Fenderson is a good example: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCECl4aNz5hvuRzW5fgCOHKQ)

So, initialy, I just connected up the wires from a 3.5mm jack plug with my scope probes - no problem, works just fine. But I'm after a neater more permanent cabled solution. Thing is, the more I look into adaptors and cables etc. etc. the more I seem to get confused (50ohm/75ohm stuff).

For example, I have a stereo 3.5mm jack plug to two phone/RCA male cable. I can get a couple of BNC/RCA adapters:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2-x-BNC-Male-to-RCA-Phono-Female-Connector-Adapter-Joiner-CCTV-Cable/371976030333?_trkparms=aid%3D111001%26algo%3DREC.SEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20131017132637%26meid%3D3bed76ce9c014fe38765cc3040d0169a%26pid%3D100033%26rk%3D3%26rkt%3D8%26sd%3D192597486944%26itm%3D371976030333&_trksid=p2045573.c100033.m2042
that I could plug right on the end and then straight into the scope. The link is meant to be a 50ohm connectors, but most are 75ohm. Would this work? Is it advisable? Would it matter which impedance I chose?
Or else, should I be getting bnc to RCA cable then connecting them to an adapter to get it into the 3.5mm jack - but isn't that just adding a whole load of unnecessary extra cable?

I've read a lot about cables and impedances over the last 24hrs, so am I right in thinking that the impedance, 50 or 75ohm, really would make any difference when it comes to audio frequencies, it's just that if I use cables with adaptors I have to make sure the cables impedance and adaptors impedance match?