Author Topic: Simple circuit for spinning a motor, pausing, then spinning the other way  (Read 4588 times)

Offline vranghelTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi everyone,

I'm an electronics hobbyist (beginner level) who likes to dabble with building different simple circuits (mostly solar).

Since I do not have the expertise to design my own circuit, and google did not help, I'd pose the question to the highly knowledgeable members of this forum:

I'm looking to build a very simple analog circuit (made of vanilla components, so no specialized chips) that spins a small (3-4V) geared motor one direction, stops for about 15 minutes then spins the other way, stops for 15 minutes and so on. The motor needs to stop in a certain position therefore a limit switch could be used. Preferably, the circuit would be run off a Li-Ion battery or directly from a 5V batter bank. I looked into a H-bridge to control the direction of the motor. The circuit doesn't need to be very accurate in terms of time, and ideally I'd be able to adjust the time with a potentiometer.

This circuit would be used to periodically rotate a small 10 cm tall decorative hourglass once the sand has run out.

Thanks!

Offline Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
An H-bridge needs at least 4 "power" transistors and two smaller transistors to drive them. What's wrong with using something like an A4950? They can be bought cheap on breakout boards.

You can put the end switches directly in series with the motor. That way the motor stops when one of the switches is hit.
But the motor has to be able to run back, even when it's leaning against a switch, so bridge each of the switches with a diode. The diode has to be able to pass the full motor current.

For a 15 minute delay something like a NE555 will be difficult (maybe you can go that far with the CMOS version, but it would require high value resistors, and low leakage electrolytic capacitors. 15 minutes = 900 seconds, so 1Mega Ohm and 1000uF may get you there.