Author Topic: Simple motor control.  (Read 1912 times)

Offline moontideTopic starter

• Contributor
Simple motor control.
« on: October 02, 2018, 05:33:44 am »
So I'm a beginner and need a specific problem solved.

I work with a conveyor system and have some basic logic control requirements....

PLEASE HELP!!!!

Problem:
Boxes often get jammed on a section of conveyor.
The motor does not stop so sinks and shit fall about 20ft onto an area where people may be.

Theory:
I figure put a photoeye in that area and have it control the motor. If the boxes stay there too long the motor shuts off. (Warning light would be nice too) On startup it should be allowed to run for an adjustable amount of time. (Ideally 5-10 seconds).  I can patch into a run signal when the motor would begin.

I'm good at soldering and have a head on my shoulders but frankly I'm 1st year industrial tech and the company who installed it can't seem to be able to install a guard requiring no tools. So alone, lol.

I watch Dave a lot but I'm only getting pieces.

Motor: 3phase 480 ac
Run signal 120v dc
Photo eye 24 vdc (PNP or npn)

Its hard for me to get the inicial run vs normal run.....

This problem made me wonder if there is an inductor with 4 contacts... Basically a transformer but an inductor that only passes a voltange threshold....
I call it transformative inductor.... Lol.

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Simple motor control.
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2018, 06:00:12 am »
I figure put a photoeye in that area and have it control the motor. If the boxes stay there too long the motor shuts off. (Warning light would be nice too) On startup it should be allowed to run for an adjustable amount of time. (Ideally 5-10 seconds).  I can patch into a run signal when the motor would begin.
you have few options..

1) infrared sensor measuring distance to object from one end of conveyor.
2) array of photodiode + infrared sensors on conveyor's side.