Author Topic: Simplified square wave generator  (Read 456 times)

Offline Zafar JamalTopic starter

Simplified square wave generator
« on: February 26, 2024, 10:07:27 am »
Hello all,

I'm relatively new to electronics. Currently I m using Siglent Arbitrary Waveform Generators but want to build a basic function generator optimized for electrochemical reactions, primarily for passing current through solutions. Here are some specific requirements:

• Square wave output only
    Adjustable output range of ±5V with 0.1V resolution
    Capability to sink and source current of at least 100mA
    Independent adjustment of both positive and negative voltage to produce asymmetrical waveforms
    Frequency adjustable up to 1kHz
    Cost-effectiveness: I require at least 5 independently adjustable outputs
I've explored a few options but would appreciate guidance:

A. Using the AD9833 to generate square waves and utilizing op-amps for voltage and offset adjustments. As shown here https://www.instructables.com/DIY-FunctionWaveform-Generator/ However, I'm concerned about the practicality of using multiple potentiometers for voltage adjustment.

B. Employing an H-bridge configuration to switch between two preset voltages. I'm uncertain about the feasibility and how to precisely set the voltages required for this setup.

Any insights or alternative suggestions would be immensely helpful. My goal is to strike a balance between functionality and affordability.

Thank you in advance for your assistance!"

Offline Terry Bites

• Super Contributor
  • Recovering Electrical Engineer
Re: Simplified square wave generator
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2024, 04:37:33 pm »
OK. Really cheap Lets say $10 in parts + An arduino... Build up the channels on strip board.

The Arduino (or other micro) can be used to set both the amplitude and frequency.
Some simple code will be needed.