Author Topic: Reverse Engineering of a PSU by a total beginner (QJ1502C)  (Read 8269 times)

Offline dangrieTopic starter

• Contributor
Reverse Engineering of a PSU by a total beginner (QJ1502C)
« on: September 25, 2015, 06:36:03 pm »
Hi EEVBlog Community,
this is my first Post in this Forum although I am a EEVblog viewer for a long time. I first want to introduce myself a little bit to give you an overview on what my knowledge with electronics is.
I'm currently graduating in Computer Science and came to electronics about two years ago. Until now I've only done projects in the typical digital/Arduino Domain and some of them actually got featured on Hackaday: here and here.

I wanted to dig into some more "analog stuff" and for this I thought about reverse engineering an already available product. I've chosen a small PSU because I thought it would be perfect for the purpose and it still is rather simple. I used the PSU that I bought some weeks ago. It runs under the name QJ1502C and is quite readily available on eBay and amazon. It is a 15V/2A unit.

The internal construction of the PSU consists of 4 seperate boards:
  • The main "power board"
  • a voltage/current adjust board (that really only consists of 2 pots and 2 connectors)
  • a output board that holds the shunt and also the 2 banana plugs
  • the display board with 2 ICL7107

Other components are just a Fused IEC input jack (the Earth connection is properly secured with a shape proof washer to the case  :) ) and the main transformer. it has 4 different windings as it seems (I relly don't have any expirience with transformers):
  • primary (obvious)
  • 0V/13V/22V as three fat wires
  • 0V/12V with thin wires
  • 0V/17V/17V with thin wires