Author Topic: SMD soldering - components blowing away  (Read 3398 times)

Offline djd_ozTopic starter

• Contributor
SMD soldering - components blowing away
« on: July 21, 2020, 12:49:41 pm »
Hey there,

I'm new to SMD soldering. I purchased an AOYUE 968A hot air rework station, a practice solder kit and the below solder paste from Jaycar.

https://www.jaycar.com.au/solder-paste-smd-syringe-15g/p/NS3046

Firstly, I apply some solder paste on the pads, place the SMD components, heat the hot air gun to around 375 C with the lowest air flow setting. When I point the hot air gun onto the component, I can see the solder slowly melting and then it reaches a point where it is almost liquidy and then sometimes the components gets blown away from the pads.

What are some tips from preventing the components blowing away?

Offline Unixon

• Frequent Contributor
Re: SMD soldering - components blowing away
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2020, 01:04:05 pm »
Probably move the fan a little bit away and be more patient and wait a little longer?
Also, 375C is kind of hot, how fast do you melt solder at your setting?

The following users thanked this post: netdudeuk, tooki

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2020, 01:34:51 pm »
Maybe around 5 secs? If I have time, I might do a video.

Offline Unixon

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2020, 01:51:17 pm »
Maybe around 5 secs? If I have time, I might do a video.
That's way too fast, you can damage components at this rate. Look at typical thermal profiles in datasheets, preheating takes 2-3 min, then 10-30 sec soldering phase then cooling down about 1 min. Don't bring the fan too close until solder melts and components soak terminals in liquid solder.

For Pb/Sn solder I usually set 260-270C, do 1-1.5 min preheating from the bottom side of the board, then 10-30 sec from the top until solder melts and components settle.