Author Topic: Soldering a 0.5mm pitch FPC connector  (Read 5082 times)

Offline SolderOcelotTopic starter

• Contributor
Soldering a 0.5mm pitch FPC connector
« on: November 09, 2018, 02:51:03 pm »
So I'm going to try to solder a keyboard connector on a MacBook A1502 and it I'll have to solder 30 pins with (I believe) 0.5mm pitch distance.

Is this doable without a heat gun? So just a soldering iron with a very sharp point?

Any other tips will be helpful as I'm a beginner.

Offline Sudo_apt-get_install_yum

• Regular Contributor
Re: Soldering a 0.5mm pitch FPC connector
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 03:00:12 pm »
This is doable, use really thin unleaded solder and lots of flux. You need a really narrow tip on your soldering iron!
Forgot to mention, post a picture and it would be easier to give more accurate advice!

The following users thanked this post: SolderOcelot

Offline langwadt

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 03:09:19 pm »
a too sharp point isn't necessarily the best, you need flux and maybe some solder wick

https://youtu.be/5NSSsKfU4rA

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2018, 05:14:34 pm »
This is doable, use really thin unleaded solder and lots of flux.
Cool! So could you tell me why unleaded solder would be better? I'm all for saving the environment but that aside.

youtube video
Will be sure to check this out as well
« Last Edit: November 09, 2018, 05:19:09 pm by Faloude »

Offline Buriedcode

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2018, 06:00:51 pm »