Author Topic: Soldering station buying advise..!!!  (Read 12634 times)

Offline GurpreetTopic starter

• Contributor
Soldering station buying advise..!!!
« on: November 06, 2015, 02:16:35 am »
Hello guys.. Im looking for a good soldering station which is bang for the buck.Weller soldering stations look fine to me but they are pretty expensive .. Im a student..which means im broke... Is there any other cheap brand i can put my money on??

Offline Fsck

• Super Contributor
  • sleep deprived
Re: Soldering station buying advise..!!!
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2015, 02:21:14 am »
Look at a hakko fx-888
or you might find an incredibly rare used metcal stss type
"This is a one line proof...if we start sufficiently far to the left."

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2015, 02:38:43 am »
Look at a hakko fx-888
or you might find an incredibly rare used metcal stss type

Hmmm.... still expensive for me..!!!

Offline daybyter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2015, 02:58:07 am »

Offline crispy_tofu

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2015, 04:38:15 am »
So what is your budget? Cheap could mean anything... $50? $100?

Offline JoeB83

• Regular Contributor
  • Longmont, CO
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2015, 07:06:08 am »
WESD51.

A word of advice: a soldering iron is something you'll use A LOT. Buy a good one the first time instead of buying several cheaper ones that will end up costing you more in the end.

Offline all_repair

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2015, 07:45:11 am »
If I did not already have so many irons,  (1) I shall get one that can take in Hakko tips, and (2) can turn on an external signal or contact when it detected I have picked up the iron.   I shall use the "soldering-in-progress" signal to power on and off the fume suction unit.  I saw such a soldering iron (China DIY type), but could not find it now.  My fume suction is controlled by a foot-pedal now, but sometime I am still too lazy to step on it.