Author Topic: Some of my new SMD electrolytics have ESD warning stickers?  (Read 833 times)

Offline NT0ZTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Stealth Amateur Radio
Some of my new SMD electrolytics have ESD warning stickers?
« on: January 29, 2023, 02:32:55 am »
Hi, gang,

Some new SMD electrolytics I just bought are packaged in anti-static bags and come with ESD warning labels. Some even indicate how long they can remain outside the sealed anti-static bag before they need to be discarded!

Did I just do a Rip Van Winkle?

In the first 50 years of building electronic stuff I have never seen anything like that on an electrolytic cap?

Of course, I'm pretty new to SMD, so maybe that's a thing?

Thanks,

--Kirk, NT0Z

Offline langwadt

• Super Contributor
Re: Some of my new SMD electrolytics have ESD warning stickers?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2023, 02:37:28 am »
probably just use the same bags with the same stickers for everything, better to do it and not need it than need it and not do it

The following users thanked this post: SeanB

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2023, 09:16:16 am »
Yes just common packaging, and the open time parameter is there so they can ensure that the parts will still reflow properly, as the factory tinning will slowly degrade with moisture and oxygen if it is not protected by being soldered into the circuit. Keep the package sealed till needed, and put dessicant sachets into the bag when opened, nice freshly baked ones that are dry, and seal the bag hermetically with a bar sealer as well.External PVC bags work well, simply put the entire original one in it, 2 sachets of dessicant, and heat seal, easiest using one of those cheap kitchen vacuum sealer units.

Offline Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2023, 09:58:37 am »
Some even indicate how long they can remain outside the sealed anti-static bag before they need to be discarded!