Author Topic: Help with triggering on DSO to check changeover time on UPS  (Read 1440 times)

Offline PTR_1275

• Frequent Contributor
Help with triggering on DSO to check changeover time on UPS
« on: February 06, 2015, 01:37:05 pm »
Hi guys / gals,

Needing a bit of help with this one. I have a battery backup UPS and am curious to see what the changeover time is between mains power and battery backup. I'm pretty new to scopes and I can't think how I would trigger it.

I am well aware of the issues with connecting the scope up to mains power directly and I have never done that. I use a small transformer with a 12vac isolated output as a isolation transformer (That was what I had lying around at the time) I use it for monitoring the clipping and distortion on inverter waveforms with no problems. I don't need critical voltage readings so it being a odd ratio doesn't bother me.

As for the triggering, because I am trying to trigger at the absence of a waveform, I don't know how to do it.

The scope I have is a rigol 1054z, not sure what other info you will need to help me, but please ask what you need to know and I will get the info to you.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing you advice

-Chris

Offline dave_k

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help with triggering on DSO to check changeover time on UPS
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 01:52:44 pm »
Not sure if the 1054z is capable of doing this, but if you can put it into ROLL mode and start running it shortly before you do the switch-over, and stop it shortly after. You'll then be able to scroll back and view the event, set markers to measure any switching times, etc..

Online nfmax

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 02:22:24 pm »