Author Topic: Sorry, but another neophyte bench power supply question  (Read 3322 times)

Offline Jimmy the SquidTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Complete and utter newb.
Sorry, but another neophyte bench power supply question
« on: September 14, 2012, 12:34:02 am »
So, I have decided to purchase a new bench power supply to complement my existing finely handcrafted model (cheap Elenco kit). I'm looking for a digital one with some bells and whistles, but I have a question since I am fairly new to this sort of thing. Don't worry though - the question isn't "what should I buy?" Hopefully, it isn't a dumb question.

My question is: on the power supplies with separate controls and displays for voltage and current, is it safe to assume that the current display will show the current being drawn, or is that a feature on only high end models? If it is the latter, what key words should I look for in product descriptions that would indicate the presence of an ammeter function?

Essentially, I'm thinking that feature is so useful, I would pay a premium for it, and conversely, I would be sad of what I bought did not have it.

Thanks!

Offline TriodeTiger

• Regular Contributor
Re: Sorry, but another neophyte bench power supply question
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2012, 01:16:18 am »
You'd usually set the current limit and the display will change from x to y. After a small timeout current monitoring will again be displayed, as the limit is useless information to persist (unless you're forgetful, YMMV).

I would pay a premium for it
This is easy to implement on a cheapie micro, and would otherwise make the second display a pointless added cost.

Alexander.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2012, 01:29:51 am by MmCoffee »
"Yes, I have deliberately traded off robustness for the sake of having knobs." - Dave Jones.

Offline robrenz

• Super Contributor
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2012, 12:32:50 pm »