Author Topic: Starship noise generator  (Read 7540 times)

Offline TantalTopic starter

• Contributor
Starship noise generator
« on: May 27, 2015, 10:09:59 pm »
For one of my projects (pimped scale model of Battlestar Galactica) I'm looking for a sound generator, that simulates the noise of a starship engine. Something like this here:

My first idea was to use brown noise with a low pass filter. But that might sound to synthetic. A little bit of humming and wobbling would be nice ;-)

I have never worked with oscillators or sound ICs before, so I'd appreciate any source of information.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2015, 12:29:25 am by Tantal »

Offline PeterFW

• Frequent Contributor
    • Stuff that goes boom
Re: Starship noise generator for Arduino
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 10:39:47 pm »
I have never worked with oscillators or sound ICs before, so I'd appreciate any source of information.

Ask google for "noise box", "wired sound generator", "drone synth", "drone box" or "dronebox", that should get your started.
Then couple that with a voltage controlled bandpass and a few occilators.

Have a look at this one:

Offline tobia

• Contributor
Re: Starship noise generator for Arduino
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 12:08:40 am »
I downloaded a piece of that spaceship sound (using the excellent youtube-dl) and run a spectrum analysis on it with Audacity.

The result in in the first picture. It has a big lump of sound at 53Hz (-12.1dB in my picture) which is a very low rumble, very loud and yet barely audible, the stuff of subwoofers; then another component at 189Hz (-20.4dB) which is a distinct low rumble, above subwoofer range, with more detail for the "engines" sound; and finally many higher frequency sounds, up to 10kHz, which make up the "flares" part of this complex sound effect.