Author Topic: Stereo Repair[IT-RR501] Mode Selector stuck/unresponsive upon power up  (Read 520 times)

Offline tremulantTopic starter

Hello Everyone, a quick summary of my electronics experience. I'm a novice. I've repaired a few things (amplifiers, dehumidifiers, fans, etc)  by replacing obviously visually faulty components.
I've read about 2/3 of Thomas Floyd's text book on Basic Electronics...so I'm decently familiar with the functions, theory, and math...but not well practiced by any means.

I recently acquired a free stereo and am trying to repair it. When I power it up, the LED display will go directly to CD mode and give the prompt "busy". However it remains indefinitely unresponsive.
No CD is in the tray, or cassette or vinyl. All buttons are unresponsive, I cannot change to any other mode including radio. However, I can turn the volume knob and change the volume value...so I know the LED display screen is responsive.

I could not find information within the manual to perform a factory reset, and have not been successful in guessing, such as holding in the power button.

I've began disassembling. I've disconnected the CD players power and information cables. With no change to the condition.

So at this point I'm open to recommendations before proceeding. There are no visible burnt out components as of yet. I'm inclined to think that perhaps the problem lies within the panel of mode selection buttons (tape, record, cd, am/fm, etc)...as I cannot even change to radio mode.

Strangely enough, I found a couple of quarters(coins) within the stereo. One in an harmless area, another balanced randomly on the circuit board. No evidence of shorting and no change upon removing it
(well, 50 cents) :P. Don't know how they got there, perhaps a kid jammed them in somehow.

If any additional information would be helpful let me know. I will likely continue disassembling and take a look at the selector switches for anything obvious.

Thank you