Author Topic: Sub $500 function generator [Rigol Vs Siglent]  (Read 2133 times)

Offline belzrebuthTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Sub $500 function generator [Rigol Vs Siglent]
« on: October 11, 2018, 10:06:12 am »
Hi all,
I'm an EE student currently working a lot with audio circuits and also repairing vintage analog & digital synthesizers.
I'm also into digital electronics (mostly logic stuff like flip flops, counters, registers etc) and MCUs.
I already have an analog and digital scope (Tek 2230 and Rigol DS1054z) and various ways of generating signals but I just want a more robust instrument for my bench.
So I decided on getting a function generator.I'm not really sure what my needs are but I know I want 2 channels, more than 10Vpp amplitude and clean signals.I also want burst/trigger options.
Used function generators on eBay end up in the 200€ range with shipping and taxes so I'd be better off buying a new instrument like a Siglent or a Rigol.
From what I've seen the obvious choices are the Rigol DG1022z or the Siglent SDG1032X.
I suspect that either will be a huge upgrade from what I'm using right now (ebay kits, arduino based dds stuff or my laptop) but since they're not that cheap I'd like to make the best choice between the two.
I like the design of the Rigol better but the Siglent may have better specs overall and might be easier to use maybe.Bandwidth is not that important for me right now.

Offline 2N3055

• Super Contributor
Re: Sub $500 function generator [Rigol Vs Siglent]
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2018, 11:33:34 am »
You should also take a look at new Rigol DG800 series in that price range.

Offline belzrebuthTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2018, 02:12:07 pm »
I really dislike the design on those things:P
The DG1022z looks pretty well laid-out and easier to use..although I've never used one tbh..

Offline rsjsouza

• Super Contributor
  • Eternally curious
    • Vbe - vídeo blog eletrônico