Author Topic: Help need understanding circuit  (Read 2759 times)

Offline talvorTopic starter

• Contributor
Help need understanding circuit
« on: January 20, 2014, 02:16:14 am »
Hi,

I am helping my father trouble shoot a board that keeps blowing up.  The board came with an ultrasonic welding machine he purchased from a one-hung-low company.

I have reverse engineered the board and created a schematic from it, which I have attached.  From what I can see it looks like there are 2 sets of 6 power transistors in parallel.  One sets emitter is connected to the other sets collector.

What I would to like know is the following;
1. What is the purpose of chaining the power transistors in parallel?
2. Why connect one sets emitter to the other sets collector?
3. Can any one provide an indication of what the circuit might be used for. Just incase my assumptions are incorrect.

PS. I am very new to electronics, so please be gentle  :-[

Thanks
Phillip

Offline Rufus

• Super Contributor
Re: Help need understanding circuit
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 02:27:43 am »
1. What is the purpose of chaining the power transistors in parallel?
2. Why connect one sets emitter to the other sets collector?
3. Can any one provide an indication of what the circuit might be used for. Just incase my assumptions are incorrect.

1. To share current and power dissipation between them.
2. Search for half bridge circuits (or full or H bridge if it has two circuits like this).
3. It is the power part of a half bridge drive circuit.

The transducer drive is likely high (as in lethal) voltage so be careful.

Offline WarSim

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2014, 02:32:46 am »
First assumption is it is an inverter.  Not knowing how it is driven this is an assumption. 
The transistors are in parallel to increase power capabilities. 

What components keep "blowing up". To diagnose the problem I hope you are not so new you can use an oscilloscope.