Author Topic: T12 clones and grounding.  (Read 10820 times)

Offline tangeloTopic starter

T12 clones and grounding.
« on: June 18, 2019, 02:17:35 pm »
Hello everyone.

I'm coming back to soldering after ~25 year hiatus. (Did some DIY kits as a hobby when I was a kid. So basicly I'm still a semi-complete noob at this)

I'm looking to buy a T12 clone from china. Most likely a Quicko Mini T12-942, Mini T12-943 or Full size T12-952.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/MINI-T12-OLED-soldering-station-electronic-welding-iron-2018-New-design-DC-Version-Portable-T12-Digital/32839523934.html
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/MINI-T12-943-OLED-STM32-1-3inch-Digital-display-soldering-station-With-DC24V3A-US-EU-power/32980325982.html
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/2017-STC-T12-Digital-Soldering-Iron-Station-Temperature-Controller-EU-Plug-Temperature-180-450-Degrees-T12/32803295956.html

If I go with the minis I need an external power supply for it and if going that route I will prolly get a 24V 3A brick from china.

https://www.banggood.com/Excellway-9-24V-3A-72W-ACDC-Adapter-Switching-Power-Supply-Regulated-Power-Adapter-Display-EU-p-1250656.html

It is my understanding that the full size 952 units that have a build in power supply are grounded while all of the mini versions are not. My question is, how important is the tip's grounding while doing DIY electronic kits and arduino stuff? I realize the grounding is important when working with sensitive parts like something you find on computer/phone mothearboards etc. but how important is it usually with electronic kits?

Would it be more worth while for me to get a full size 952 unit (that costs more) that can be grounded and will that even guarantee that the tip is grounded? How paranoid should I be with the tip's grounding in the first place as I see lots of irons that are not grounded in the first place?