Author Topic: Test controller Scripting  (Read 1708 times)

Offline DreddiTopic starter

Test controller Scripting
« on: January 03, 2023, 06:16:45 am »
I'm new to EEVblog but I've been watching the videos for years now and somehow just stumbled onto the forum in search of Test Controller and some help. This will likely be a very easy one for most of you.

I'm running Test Controller and I need a custom script for a battery conditioning process. I've done a fair bit of basic programming but I'm completely unfamiliar with the language used for scripts here.

what I need is a simple script that will calculate and set different current settings and terminate the cycle based on current.
Example:
Calculate step 1 discharge voltage (Nominal voltage/1.2) = step 1 terminate voltage.
Calculate step 1 discharge current (Nominal capacity/C1) = step 1 current.
set step 1 cutoff voltage and current.

Once step 1 voltage has been met switch to constant current until some additional step values are met and switch to another mode/value.

I'm using an East Tester ET5410A+ and so far I'm enjoying it and the Test Controller software. I just can't locate a resource so far that will help me understand how to implement my script. I've been over most of the info here in the forum but I can't find enough. Perhaps someone has or knows of a "how-to" for scripting?

Offline BeBuLamar

• Super Contributor
Re: Test controller Scripting
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2023, 04:28:41 pm »
The unit support SCPI language and you can find information about SCPI online but I can't find its specific instruction set. It wouldn't support all commands available in SCPI I don't think so. Also I do not know the baud rate, parity etc... of the unit.

Offline Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2023, 05:06:37 pm »
I'm wondering why you even bought the thing without checking out it's programming interface.