Author Topic: The Ergonomics of Microscope Soldering: Direct Optical View vs Camera/Monitor  (Read 20926 times)

Offline Renate

• Super Contributor
When I started with electronics, aged 12, as a self-taught kid I didn't know any better and bought a big Weller 100/140 watt soldering gun with pocket money saved up over a long time.
I had one of those. I didn't buy it, it was my father's.
I cried when I completely massacred a project with 14 pin RTL DIPs.
I eventually got a pencil soldering iron and fixed the project with bodge wires.
I don't remember exactly how old I was but the RTL should give an idea how long ago it was.

Offline SilverSolder

• Super Contributor
When I started with electronics, aged 12, as a self-taught kid I didn't know any better and bought a big Weller 100/140 watt soldering gun with pocket money saved up over a long time.
I had one of those. I didn't buy it, it was my father's.
I cried when I completely massacred a project with 14 pin RTL DIPs.
I eventually got a pencil soldering iron and fixed the project with bodge wires.
I don't remember exactly how old I was but the RTL should give an idea how long ago it was.

You were lucky in that your father was interested in that kind of stuff -  Mine wasn't, he liked the arts!  :D    ....so, I had zero encouragement messing with electronics.  A couple of good teachers made up for it later, though.

Offline LootMaster

• Regular Contributor
Something like this...Is what you need.

I tried the headband... Its not good enough for SMD, 0402, fine pitch... Bite the bullet now, listen to the girl from Ipad rehab... Stereo scope with adjustable zoom and adjustable light from knob.

I was gonna buy a 10x magnifier for like 30$ but I decided to save 30$ and spend an extra 400$ or so...

I bought the last one :(, with the attaching light Now you will probably see a price hike hehe.

Take those papers and buy some good Chinese gear... The sooner the better.