Author Topic: total novice needs advice on zener diodes  (Read 1472 times)

Offline emmajacktTopic starter

total novice needs advice on zener diodes
« on: December 02, 2018, 11:54:54 pm »
Hi, I am a total novice when it comes to circuit boards and was wondering if someone could help me. I have a Horizon Omega CS treadmill and there was a loud bang when I plugged it in last week and the circuit board had blown a couple of transistors and a couple of zener diodes. As the diodes have blown, I am unable to test what voltage ones I would need to replace them. I am attaching a picture of the same diode that i need and would be really grateful if someone could help me. I have looked online for a diagram of the circuit board with no luck

Thank you, Kev.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2018, 11:56:54 pm by emmajackt »

Offline FriedMule

• Frequent Contributor
  • Can make even the simplest task look imposible.
Re: total novice needs advice on zener diodes
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2018, 07:47:45 am »
I am a novice like you so my advice can be the worst thing to do but I would try to locate if there are some place where it says the voltage and then work backward and if that do not work I'll put ZD in with a wary low voltage and then put one with a higher voltage until it looks to work fine.
Even if I appear online is it not necessary so, my computer is on 24/7 even if I am not on.

Offline capt bullshot

• Super Contributor
    • Mostly useless stuff, but nice to have: wunderkis.de
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2018, 08:00:56 am »
If you just want to replace the diodes and transistors, you'll have to get some documentation or information from the manufacturer or a very similar unit. I don't have either of these.

Otherwise, one would try to reverse parts of the schematic to get an idea of what is the purpose of these diodes, why they were blown and make an educated guess on their value.
Safety devices hinder evolution

Offline mvs

• Frequent Contributor