Author Topic: AC confuses me.  (Read 1946 times)

Offline HextejasTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
AC confuses me.
« on: January 11, 2018, 09:33:06 pm »
Please excuse a complete noob question.

I am doing an exercise on a breadboard that has Vin as 9v AC.
My wall wart takes the 120 down to 9v and I have a plug that lets me plug it into the breadboard.
The breadboard of course has the + and - rails running down the side.
So, since this is AC, does it have a + and - or does it make any difference ?

Thanks and please excuse if a stupid question.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: AC confuses me.
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 09:42:12 pm »
The + and - are simply labels for your convenience, when working with AC they are irrelevant. There is no difference internally in the breadboard, it's just like the color of wire insulation.

Offline paulca

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 09:53:43 pm »
Yes, AC is confusing.  It all gets into trigonometry to explain simple things like current, voltage, power.

If you have two wires coming from the power supply I expect one of them is a "reference" voltage and the other will alternate around it.  My maths brain doesn't work these days, I expect it doesn't really matter which is which.  They will go +9V potential between them at some point and -9V potential at another.  So if you reverse them there is no difference.  They will alternate between each other at the frequency, probably 50 or 60Hz in your case.

I hate AC.
"What could possibly go wrong?"
Current Open Projects:  STM32F411RE+ESP32+TFT for home IoT (NoT) projects.  Child's advent xmas countdown toy.  Digital audio routing board.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2018, 10:01:27 pm »