Author Topic: Triac in spot welder controller issue  (Read 1683 times)

Offline Nicky3087Topic starter

Triac in spot welder controller issue
« on: September 09, 2019, 01:00:33 pm »
Hello everyone, this is my first topic, I am very new in the electronic world, meaning that my knowledge is almost in existence.
I built a spot welder for batteries out of an used MOT and this controller (https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/pB899WTW). The first controller that I bought was apparently not working properly as it delivered to much power and te pulse at the electrodes was rather not constant (kind of that when it reached the max amperage it whent to zero power many times during the duration of the pulse). I ordered another one and it was working fantastic up until yesterday when it started to do the same as the previous controller. My questions: is there a chance that a back inductive spike could have damaged the triac (bta100 800b)? How can I know if the controller includes a protection against this? Thanks everyone!

Offline autotel

• Contributor
Re: Triac in spot welder controller issue
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 03:11:19 pm »
I don't have any experience at all regarding this, but since there are no answers yet, perhaps it will be better than nothing.

One time I was doing a driver for a rather big motor (~8 A), which was working with a lot of stutter. I was using a PWM controller, and I wanted to check how important was induction in this problem. I added a diode from the driver chip to the pump, making it impossible for the pump to add voltage "back" to the controller. As you would expect, the diode got very, very hot; but the pump started running smoothly as expected. On the anode side of the diode I could see a very noisy pwm signal, and on the other side, a clean pwm.