Author Topic: Confusing case of return current  (Read 2402 times)

Offline arduino_guyTopic starter

• Contributor
Confusing case of return current
« on: February 14, 2017, 02:48:03 pm »
Hi,

Recently I started designing boards involving high speed signals and requires proper design to ensure signal integrity and taking good care of return current. I'm still a newbie in this domain. I know that the return current tends to couple with the signal current and keeping them coupled is good for signal integrity, reduce emissions, reducing the impedance of the current path etc. Also return current tends to find the shortest path to ground. Now comes my question. Assume that the PCB is a 2 layer with a solid, unbroken ground plane on bottom layer. Suppose I have a chip spitting out a high freq interface clock, but is placed away from the ground of the power supply(assume power is powered through a barrel connector). On the other hand, the receiver is placed closer to the barrel connector. Obviously, the return current has a lower impedance path back to ground without having to couple with the signal current. So if the return current goes to ground directly without coupling with signal current, we'll have problems like emissions. On the other hand if it tends to couple with the signal current(which is just a wild thought on mine, I know it is impossible since a path with much lesser impedance exists. Just speculating), it is worse from a signal integrity point of view since the signal goes through a higher impedance path. So, in spite of having a solid ground plane, I'm going to have tons of problems(emissions, signal integrity problems etc.). How do I take care of such a situation? Experts chime in your ideas!!!!!!

Online AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: Confusing case of return current
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 03:33:35 pm »