Author Topic: Trying to control a relay  (Read 170 times)

Offline tobia

• Contributor
Trying to control a relay
« on: May 23, 2020, 03:21:53 pm »
Hello

I'm a newbie, putting together a simple circuit for home automation, but I'm having trouble controlling a relay.

You can see the schematic in the attachment, where the 1k resistor on the left takes a 5V digital out from an ATTiny pin, and the screw connectors on the right are supposed to control a valve.

If you look at the Rigol screenshot in the second attachment, the blue signal is pin 2 (base) of the transistor, and the red signal is pin 3 (collector). Division is 1V, and GND for both signals is at -3 div, where the blue pointer is on the left.

I've done similar circuits many times before, so this time I put it together without a second thought, but now I find that it's not working. In particular, the collector is not dropping to ground, therefore not opening the relay.

What incredibly silly mistake am I making?

PS. Third picture is the relay. I'm starting to think that it has something to do with inductance of the coil, because of the shape of the oscillation in the red signal. But it's a 5VDC controlled relay, so it should be fine?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 03:42:13 pm by tobia »

Offline DrG

• Regular Contributor
Re: Trying to control a relay
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2020, 03:54:37 pm »
- Invest in science - it pays big dividends. -

Offline KMoffett

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 03:58:30 pm »
You have a base current of 4.4.mA. The coil current is 71mA. Rule of thumb Ib=Ic/10. So try decreasing the resistor to ~560Ω.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2020, 03:59:49 pm »
What is the coil resistance and, for the applied voltage, what will be the current?  If I had to guess, I would think that the transistor is getting hot.

You picked 1k Ohms for the resistor.  Do you know why you picked that value?