Author Topic: UART Hardware Flow Control - Confirming Nominal Operation  (Read 419 times)

Offline davegravyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
UART Hardware Flow Control - Confirming Nominal Operation
« on: March 09, 2024, 12:58:04 am »
I've never used flow control before and I'm scratching my head a bit interfacing with this Sparkfun LTE shield: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/14997
Schematic here: https://cdn.sparkfun.com/assets/d/7/b/c/3/lte_cat_m1_shield_schematic_v11.pdf

After cutting JP4 that shorts the shield's RTS to ground, I connected my SBC's RTS to the shield's CTS and vice versa. But I wasn't getting any successful communication (I tested UART without flow control fine beforehand so I knew the RX and TX connections were correct).

I connected the 4 pins to a logic analyzer and saw some CTS/RTS activity but it didn't make a lot of sense to me based on my understanding of how it should work. Only the SBC was sending data, no replies from the shield.

After pulling my hair out for a bit I reversed the CTS/RTS connection and voila it started working. Confused, I checked the LA again and the SBC's CTS is constantly low (active). Triggering on rising/falling SBC CTS there is never any LA capture. I see the Shield's CTS being switched occasionally but never the SBC's.

Is this normal? Does it just mean throughput is too low to achieve a full buffer on the SBC's side? Baud rate is 115200

How can I be sure this is working normally?
« Last Edit: March 09, 2024, 01:55:04 am by davegravy »

Offline Nominal Animal

• Super Contributor
    • My home page and email address
Re: UART Hardware Flow Control - Confirming Nominal Operation
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2024, 03:44:01 am »
Is this normal? Does it just mean throughput is too low to achieve a full buffer on the SBC's side? Baud rate is 115200