Author Topic: UHF VHF tv antenna design  (Read 993 times)

Offline robsimsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
UHF VHF tv antenna design
« on: March 25, 2024, 12:21:57 pm »
Hi,

I'm a beginner in electronics. I want to design a VHF/UHF tv antenna in the frequency range from 40 to 800 mhz. What are the most reliable webpages to start with?
-

Online selcuk

• Regular Contributor
Re: UHF VHF tv antenna design
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2024, 12:52:27 pm »
This one is very useful to start with:

https://www.antenna-theory.com/

The following users thanked this post: robsims

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2024, 12:53:49 pm »
Normally you'd split that on two antennas or even three:
VHF + UHF or VHF1 + VHF2 + UHF, all of them Yagi types.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2024, 02:45:50 pm »
I have a cheap chinese yagi combination VHF/UHF antenna which operates at 45 to 860 mhz. Input impedance is 75 ohm and a gain of 26 db for VHF and a gain of 28 dB for UHF. The antenna is good, but the boom and elements are from weak cheap thin aluminum tubes. The antenna also has a preamp. I want to design/build this antenna with sturdier thick aluminum or copper tubes. I need a  reliable calculator to build it or if someone has antenna design information i can calculate it on my own
« Last Edit: March 25, 2024, 02:47:46 pm by robsims »

Offline radiolistener

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2024, 03:27:13 pm »
I want to design a VHF/UHF tv antenna in the frequency range from 40 to 800 mhz. What are the most reliable webpages to start with?

The first thing that you're needs to start with is that antenna VSWR, Q and BW parameters are linked together.

BW = (VSWR-1) / (Q*sqrt(VSWR))

If you improve one of them, you will get worse other parameters and vice versa.