Author Topic: understand c programming logic but can't write a tough program  (Read 5633 times)

Offline khatusTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
understand c programming logic but can't write a tough program
« on: February 22, 2020, 06:19:44 pm »

Hello guys I am a beginner in c programming.I understand the logic behind a solved problem in c programming, but I can't write a tough program(like Pascal's triangle,pyramid) without any algorithm or flowchart by myself.When the program gets a little tough, I can't solve it. What should I do now?Which book should i follow.I  need some useful advice.

Offline Byonnem

• Bachelor Student EE
Re: understand c programming logic but can't write a tough program
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2020, 06:30:48 pm »
To be honest, practice makes perfect... It took me 140 Hours to understand pointers and structs, so don't demotivate yourself but instead keep trying.

I found that the best way to motivate myself was by doing "realistic" challenges.

Some practical tips:

First step should always be on paper. Think, how to approach a challenge: divide it in sub-parts, flow charts and so on..
I like to layout my functions, before i start to fill them with code. Make clear with comments what you expect each function, object or what ever should do, or to what it corresponds to on the paper you made in the step before.
Comments, i cannot stress enough how important documentation is. If you can't explain what you're doing, there is something wrong.

And my final tip would be, buy a rubber duck and explain your code to him ;)

Good Luck!

M.D.S

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2020, 07:17:52 pm »
I find it useful to write some kind of pseudo-code that explains, in sequence, what needs to be done to solve the problem.  Make this fairly fine grained and then you can write C functions for each of the steps.