Author Topic: understanding this DC load circuit  (Read 3373 times)

Offline JeanFTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
understanding this DC load circuit
« on: March 11, 2020, 02:46:00 pm »
Hello,

as a learning exercise, and as an excuse to practice schematic entry with Diptrace that I just installed, I reverse engineered one of the cheap Chinese DC load boards that are available on aliexpress/ebay etc. This particular unit (model XHDZ-FZ) was discussed a few times here and there, and at least two people made schematics, but there were oddities and (I think) small mistakes, so I wanted to see by myself and make another schematic. I tried to make it clearer and easier to read than the other ones, but critique is always welcome!
(click for pdf version)

I'd like to hear your thoughts about one or two design choices that I don't understand. Maybe the answer is "well, this makes no sense, that's just poor product design" but I'm not experienced enough to conclude that without asking others first.

- I see they're using a diode (D3) to make the "analog ground" 0.7 V higher than the negative supply. Is this common practice? I've never seen that elsewhere (but again, I don't have much experience)
- why could they possibly be doing that ? LM258 common mode input voltage is supposed to go all the way down to ground. Maybe this allows the use of any cheap or even counterfeit opamp?
- the various ebay/banggood/aliexpress listings, which are all the same, insist that V- must be tied to "ground" (they don't say which one), either with the solder bridge that is shipped by default, or externally inside a volt/ampere meter. Why is that? Can't V+ and V- be left floating with regards to the 12 V supply voltage? (well, except the R7/R8 path)