Author Topic: understanding worn 18650 cells, testing capacity / resistance etc  (Read 672 times)

Offline carpetpaul2129Topic starter

• Contributor
so, I'm very new to this, interested indeed, but I've a lot to learn. I'm on with a couple of projects where I've been replacing the battery packs in some small devices, attempting to test the old vs new cells to see how they might show that they're worn out etc.

I repaired a cordless tyre inflator which housed 3x 18650 of semi-unknown brand, charged voltages were 4.16v / 4.17v / 4.17v. Using a 1ohm resistor, I checked the voltage drop and found high resistance in all (compared to every other cell I have) they were 120milliohm / 110 milliohm / 140 milliohm. I then connected a 0.22ohm resistor ** and timed how long it took for them to drop to 2.5v ( I think that's about 16.82 amps ? ) they lasted 22 seconds each (these three same cells also had measured 1344mAh / 1278mAh / 1200mAh when I measured the capacity on my terrible Chinese IMAX B6 clone (stops at 3volts), I think the most it can discharge is at 0.4Amp ? - is there any conclusion I can draw from this other than the fact that these batteries can't handle much load ?

Next up I have two sets of 6 cells, the 6 which were removed from my old Dyson vacuum battery pack, charged voltages 4.19v / 4.19v /4.18v / 4.18v / 4.19v / 4.15v. resistance was 80milliohm for 4 of the cells, a 91milliohm, and 98milliohm. then using the 0.22ohm resistor, 4.18v - 2.5v most of the cells took on average 9min40sec, with one cell lasting 10min 35sec. This (apparently) if my maths is correct, is about 2600mAh. cells are Sony VTC4 which should have a capacity of 2100mAh when new (and I bet not at 16 Amp either !) - what went wrong ?