Author Topic: Using a BoardViewer  (Read 1139 times)

Offline M1ch4LTopic starter

Using a BoardViewer
« on: February 04, 2020, 12:03:52 am »
Hello.

I need help. A friends notebook with motherboard X553SA rev 2.0 it´s completely dead. No power light, no charging. I checked the MB and found some bad smd caps on it … BUT I cant identify them … by the way I must say I am a beginner in repairing … so I was looking around on the net and found BoardViewer , this shows all the components on the MB with Pins and some more Info, Data … I was so happy  ;D but only for short time  :palm:
My first question is what means this info /NBS_C0805_H57_000S/ about the capacitor? What I know 0805 is the measurement … Is there somewhere a table about about the voltage and farad?
Next question is how can I use the check points on the board? I see when I sign one check point in the BoardViewer, some other points, pins are lighting up too … Thanks!
I attach one picture with this bad cap on BoardViewer:

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Using a BoardViewer
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 12:23:56 am »
Board viewer only shows the layout, you also need a schematic.

But in this this case you can see that the cap is between the ground and voltage line of the DDR. It can probably be safely removed. If something does not work without it, then it is likely something else is broken too.
Alex

The following users thanked this post: M1ch4L

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2020, 12:57:04 am »
Thanks for your fast reply!

I try to find the schematic ...
So probably the notebook can work normally without this NBS_C0805_H57_000S capacitor?

The next bad one is this:

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2020, 01:36:58 am »
It is hard to guess from the signal names.