Author Topic: Using a current to activate a switch  (Read 2152 times)

Offline beginnerTopic starter

• Contributor
Using a current to activate a switch
« on: April 16, 2014, 08:11:58 am »
Hey Guys,

You can probably tell by the question I'm total beginner here - I am working on only my second project and am some of the way along getting it all together, have run into a couple of small hurdles for now.  Basically what I am attempting to achieve is to integrate a raspberry pi with an old boombox - like a sort of semi DIY sonos.

Right now where I'm at:  I've got stable power to the RPI from either 240v or battery (at the moment 9v) sources, have a DAC sorted out andwired into the amp which is putting out some decent sound, as well a basic on/off (basic as in it just kills the power to the whole thing).  Simple enough, all runs, does the job OK and hasn't caught fire, but needs a few things before I put the cover back on it all.

Where I'm stuck:  I've got a reasonably clever switch for the pi which is fairly basic in operation : When the + and - are closed the switch gives the signal for the pi to soft shutdown, when done the power to the pi is cut.  Obviously power required to be present make this happen, so my kill switch won't work.

What I'm thinking:  My box has a couple of components (FM receiver / tape).  These are activated by flipping through the various positions on the selector switch.  This selector is soldered onto the board with a whole bunch of pins and appears as though it works by completing the selected circuit,  I've considered rewiring this but not sure of the implications.

It does so happen I have removed the FM board to make space for my own gear, this has left me with a couple of now unused wires giving me 8ish volts when this function is selected.  This selector does have an 'off' position which cuts power to everything (I have accessed power for the pi at a point unaffected by this switch)