Author Topic: Vacuum tube synth oscillator.  (Read 1964 times)

Offline ELS122Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Vacuum tube synth oscillator.
« on: June 27, 2022, 08:54:08 pm »
I'm quite new to synthesizers, and oscillator circuits, but I have worked on tube audio for years.
I was wondering if there's a descent VCO using vacuum tubes that wouldn't drift a ton, I found a circuit using a neon lamp oscillator and changing the bias of the tube to adjust the frequency, but I think that would be unbearably drifty.
I'm not afraid of using sand, but I just want to make the audio chain mostly out of tubes for fun.
maybe having some kind of phase shift oscillator with a BJT changing the phase shift of the RC chain?
what would you suggest?

also, I don't quite get how synthesizers change the wave shape? do they change the operation of the oscillator itself? swap over to different oscillators entirely? or have some filter circuitry that just uses the frequency from the oscillator to create a desired waveform?
« Last Edit: June 27, 2022, 09:36:40 pm by ELS122 »

Offline BeBuLamar

• Super Contributor
Re: Vacuum tube synth oscillator.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2022, 09:07:47 pm »
I really don't know but I think (of course I can be very wrong)
1. Analog synth has osillator the generate sine wave of different frequencies then either combine them to build the harmonic of filter them to change the wave shape.
2. Digital synth I think they just generate the wave form mathemaically then feed to digital to analog converter for the final stage.

Offline RJSV

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2022, 09:25:03 pm »
   You should do OK, with various concepts, such as RC filter are similar (to solid state).  I would start with a bit of study, of a product called:
   'The Analog Thing'

That is a flat, writing tablet size, providing various sub-units, like X2 ac voltage amp, low pass filter, and a few separate VCOs, that is 'Voltage Controlled Oscillator'.