Author Topic: VISA and Lab Tool Software  (Read 1254 times)

Offline nathonTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Blog
VISA and Lab Tool Software
« on: January 25, 2022, 01:25:35 pm »
I have a question about how the VISA drivers, connection software and individual tool software interact. I'm a software engineering with a good understanding of computers and software. However, I'm fairly new to electronics, so I don't understand the lab tool software to PC ecosystem.

My Setup
  • Hantek MPO6104D Oscilloscope
  • Rigol DP832A Power Supply
  • BK Precision 5493C Multimeter

All of the tools above are connected to my PC via USB. All 3 of these are visible in Keysight Connection Expert and show when they're connected/disconnected. Although it took some work, I got the software for the Hantek working and connecting to the oscilloscope. Then I loaded the software for the Rigol and BK Precision. The software for both connected and worked great right away. However, I was no longer able to connect to the Hantek via it's Digital Scope software after that.

As of right now, the Hantek and Rigol are both identified in Keysight Connection Expert and show a green status. However, the BK Precision shows as unknown and Keysight Interactive IO gives the following error.

! VI_ERROR_NCIC: Not the controller-in-charge
Visa ErrorCode: 0xBFFF0060 (-1073807264)

Long story short, I'm trying to figure out the relationship from the tool, through VISA and the connections, to the tool's software so I can get all 3 of these working at the same time. Does anyone have any resources or insights on how all of this ties together and how to begin resolving this issue?
Nathon Dalton

Offline rfclown

• Frequent Contributor
Re: VISA and Lab Tool Software
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2022, 06:18:05 pm »
Not sure if anything I say here will help you, but here are some things: