Author Topic: Voltage boost circuit to constant current (solved:User error)  (Read 509 times)

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Self taught, experimenter, noob(ish)
So I tried to turn a voltage boost circuit to a constant current one and ended up charring the current sense resistor
I intended to mod an mt3608 by replacing the R1 with a LED that needs 600mA and had 1ohms for R2 as in diagram
« Last Edit: March 30, 2024, 05:47:12 pm by Raj »

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Voltage boost circuit to constant current
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2024, 04:10:55 pm »
When I put it to test, the resistor started to glow brighter than the led (cause the led was an IR one  :-DD)
The voltage across it was 2 volts and current through it was 1.5A. Luckily the LED survived somehow.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2024, 04:14:27 pm by Raj »

Offline RajTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2024, 04:15:32 pm »
Stupid me realized that input voltage was higher than output and it's a boost circuit. Please delete the thread. case closed  :-DD  Realized while I was typing my input voltage. I intended to use a 15V LED but tested the circuit with a 1.5v led as a stand in.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2024, 04:21:38 pm by Raj »

Online CaptDon

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2024, 07:47:44 pm »
They don't make 15 volt LED's. And you don't put 600ma through a LED.
Collector and repairer of vintage and not so vintage electronic gadgets and test equipment. What's the difference between a pizza and a musician? A pizza can feed a family of four!! Classically trained guitarist. Sound engineer.

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2024, 10:02:26 pm »
Why be so pedantic?

One can buy power LEDs which are really multiple LEDs connected in series and parallel. A forward voltage of 15V would be five LEDs in series and there are power LEDs which can easily handle 600mA, even single dies.