Author Topic: Voltage leak in cheap relay?  (Read 9286 times)

Offline wblackledgTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Voltage leak in cheap relay?
« on: May 16, 2015, 04:19:35 am »
I've never worked with relays before and new to the hobby.

I bought a $4 circuit from China via ebay. (see link below).
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Liquid-Level-Controller-Sensor-Module-Water-Level-Detection-Sensor-Low-pressure-/311336921213?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item487d20687d

The Chinglish instructions in the one I bought were lacking..

Once I hooked it up to my multimeter  I noticed in the "off"  setting I was getting about 400mv to 200mv leakage it would fluctuate all the way up to 1 Volt.   I bought two, and the second one acted the same.  In the On position it worked fine at 12V.   

Is this because its a cheap relay/circuit or is that normal for relays?

Better question will the leakage damage my bilge pump I'm hooking up to it over time?

thanks in advance.

Offline PSR B1257

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Voltage leak in cheap relay?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2015, 07:16:00 am »
hooked it up to my multimeter  I noticed in the "off"  setting I was getting about 400mv to 200mv leakage it would fluctuate all the way up to 1 Volt.
How did you measure that?
If there is indeed a leakage, then leakage current. Leakage voltage is not quite a technical term  ;)

Certainly not, but I guess you have measure something wrong there.

fine at 12V.   
AC or DC?
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is.

Offline richard.cs

• Super Contributor
  • Electronics engineer from Southampton, UK.
    • Random stuff I've built (mostly non-electronic and fairly dated).
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2015, 08:21:16 am »