Author Topic: Weird power supply signal  (Read 1203 times)

Offline sboTopic starter

Weird power supply signal
« on: September 20, 2021, 09:27:05 pm »
Hi,

I'm new to electronics and I recently bought my first DC power supply a Kungber SPS 3010

https://www.amazon.com/Kungber-Adjustable-Switching-Regulated-Adjustments/dp/B08DJ1FDXV/

When I set it to 10 volts (for example), I got the good voltage and I assume that if I connect it to an oscilloscope I will have a beautifull horizontal line at 10 volts with a little noise.

But look what i got :o  :wtf:

Legend:

Channel 1 (Yellow) is on positive
Channel 2 (green) is on negative
Violet line is (Channel 1 - Channel 2)

Is it normal or a defect, or because of the bad quality of this power supply ?

Thank you in advance for your answers,
sbo
« Last Edit: September 20, 2021, 09:46:28 pm by sbo »

Offline WattsThat

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Weird power supply signal
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2021, 09:46:14 pm »
Incorrect hookup. Your probes are open circuit.

Probe tips on supply (+) , probe ground clips on (-)

That is normal 50Hz mains noise pickup from the unconnected probe connections.

PS: Do not attempt to connect your scope probes to mains to “see what it looks like”. That would not end well.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2021, 09:48:05 pm by WattsThat »

The following users thanked this post: sbo

Offline RoGeorge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2021, 09:48:17 pm »
GND banana plug for that power supply does not mean 0 volts.  GND there means is for the Earth grounding, or else said GND is the metallic case of the instrument.

To measure the output voltage (or to power your circuits) you need to connect only the + and the - plugs.  Earth ground (GND plug) is optional.  Read the user manual of your power supply, might be explained there how to connect it.

What you see on the oscilloscope is expected.