Author Topic: What are the top "traps for young players" in basic PCB design?  (Read 7803 times)

Offline futurebirdTopic starter

• Futurebird's Blog
What are the top "traps for young players" in basic PCB design? I'm learning Eagle and I'd love to know what to avoid. Is there an intro level book on this topic?

To give you an idea of my level: I'm working my way through Art of Electronics by doing the exercises. I'm on the second chapter. I'm a mathematician (college prof) by training, but I've been thinking about a career shift.  Anyway, my plan for now is to study the book and build lots of projects. I might take a course in the fall if this continues to go well. I've made a few simple PCBs and they work, I used "fritzing" but I'm already finding that software a bit limiting.

There are a lot of good resources to get stared with PCB design. And plenty of advanced stuff that is over my head (for now.) A list of common errors would be really helpful. Or reading/watching a critique of a beginner's design.

I hope this isn't too general!
Also, hello! I've gained so much from this forum and Dave's videos, but this question has been nagging me so I finally had to stop lurking. 
« Last Edit: April 28, 2016, 07:07:27 pm by futurebird »

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: What are the top "traps for young players" in basic PCB design?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 07:52:41 pm »
I would suggest getting a sufficiently complex PCB (maybe an FPGA development board or perhaps a PC motherboard) and looking at it for things that scream "that's odd".

For example, heading toward memory chips you will see S bends in the traces to achieve equal distance or perhaps even certain delays between signals.  I know, 1.2 nS per foot but we're dealing with 10s of picoseconds.

Trace cross-sectional area versus current.
Trace clearance versus voltage (applies to higher voltages, like mains)

Capacitance and inductance are always a problem, when they are unwanted.