Author Topic: What are those spikes after transients?  (Read 4209 times)

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: What are those spikes after transients?
« Reply #25 on: September 26, 2021, 10:49:34 am »
More specifically the equivalent sample rate, whatever that might be.  Like my old TDS460 has a 100MSps rate but reports up to I think 50GSps at the highest sweep (however, it fills in DREADFULLY slowly, by random sampling).

... and is still only a 400MHz scope  ;)
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline Jwillis

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2021, 07:10:37 pm »
I'm not an expert on this by any means . Only just begone to delve into this area of electronics  . By the micro chip label I'm guessing It's a AVR128 series chip . 
This looks a lot like a bread board technique issue . Connections to the chip are to long with minimal decoupling . Decoupling and filtering needs to be a close to the chip as possible . There are a lot of very long wire connections that create a lot of parasitic inductance . Found this out with similar devices  . Any supply decoupling needs to be as close to the chip pins as possible to reduce current looping.

General Guidelines
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/40002183A.pdf   Page 20 Part 4

http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/appnotes/atmel-1619-emc-design-considerations_applicationnote_avr040.pdf

http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/AppNotes/AN2519-AVR-Microcontroller-Hardware-Design-Considerations-00002519B.pdf

Just my take on this .
I'm learning to so if anyone could chime in I would appreciate the input .

Offline StillTrying

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: September 26, 2021, 09:37:46 pm »
... and is still only a 400MHz scope  ;)