Author Topic: What component is this?  (Read 8980 times)

Offline irqTopic starter

What component is this?
« on: February 20, 2011, 12:44:28 am »
Hey everyone! I'm a bit new to electronics and have been really enjoying Dave's blogs and especially the people and information on this forum. I was hoping someone here might be able to help me identify a component.

Long story short, My Mac Pro just died, and some magic smoke came out. After tearing everything down, I found the problem... a component labeled L12 on the board for my video card, which is an Nvidia Geforce GTX285.

The component obviously got a bit hot, destroying its label and melting some of the solder holding it to the board, as well as warping some plastic on the heatsink that attaches to this board. The component itself says R10 on it but being labeled L12 on the board, I really doubt it's a resistor. Is it an inductor? I'm still definitely an electronics newbie...

Anyway, here's a photo:

You can see the full photo here: http://dan.nyip.net/videocard/full.jpg.

Alex

Re: What component is this?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 12:53:34 am »
It's an inductor. I doubt this is the only component damaged.

Can you take a picture of the underside of the board at that location? Look for some black components marked D-something.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2011, 01:15:04 am by Alex »

Offline irqTopic starter

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 01:08:19 am »
You may be right, but as far as visually-obvious damage goes, it's the only one. It's cheap enough to try replacing it and seeing if the card functions again. It's unfortunately out of warranty, so I don't really have much to loose. I actually have decent skills with SMT soldering, so I'm confident I can physically replace the component.

What does R10 mean? 100nH?

Offline mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2011, 01:10:56 am »
It's an inductor. I doubt this is the only component damaged.