Author Topic: What degree does Dave have.  (Read 29099 times)

Offline TopherTheME

• Regular Contributor
Re: What degree does Dave have.
« Reply #25 on: January 01, 2011, 09:45:00 pm »
Some areas are so complicated that learning it on your own in a timely manner is overwhelming and in some cases impossible.  Making clever circuits in your garage is one thing and practicing on the forefront of research and design is another.

I'm not sure I agree completely agree with this, although it is true to some extent. As a PhD student/researcher myself, I'm constantly learning things on my own that academic faculty just can't teach me. I'm a mechanical engineer, but my research requires a lot of instrumentation that doesn't exist or isn't commercially available so I have to built it myself. A lot of what I do is optical and very very sensitive analog circuit design (talking 10's of fA and pV here) that a lot of professors and other EE PhD's at my uni just don't have much knowledge or experience with things this sensitive and can't help me without devoting a large amount of their own time. While a typical (and probably smarter) student would just change research topics, I search papers, app notes, and perform small experiments in order to learn and figure this stuff out.

More to the point, a formal education, no matter how advanced it is, isn't going to teach you everything (realistically, not even 5%) that you need to know. Whether you work at CERN doing cutting edge research, or at Sparkfun developing the next LED christmas tree, the best education is the one you give yourself. Formal schooling can save you a bit of time but its not something that can be relied upon, especially if you're doing cutting edge research.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2011, 09:49:47 pm by TopherTheME »
Don't blame me. I'm the mechanical engineer.

Offline theoldguyTopic starter

« Reply #26 on: January 02, 2011, 05:05:25 am »