Author Topic: What determines PSU wattage?  (Read 3060 times)

Offline SwampRatTopic starter

What determines PSU wattage?
« on: March 13, 2016, 10:44:30 pm »
Greetings!

Total noob here.  I'm currently in the "Wow! I have a heck of a lot to learn stage." In fact sometimes I feel like I'm thinking in circles.

I have been looking at regulated power supplies (not benchtop, I potentially need to power a DC motor for a project).  The thing that has me puzzled is wattage ratings. What determines the wattage rating in a power supply.  I mean what hardware inside changes to increase or decrease wattage.  I assume amp rating and wattage rating are related, but there does not seem to be a fixed correlation. Yes I said assume, I'm willing to accept the assumption could be dead wrong wrong.

Okay so given that voltage is the same:
What physical difference is there between an Xwatt PSU and a >Xwatt PSU.
Are watts and Amps direct functions of each other.
While I'm at it, what changes amp ratings?

Hopefully I am asking the correct questions...

Thanks for the patience

Swamp

Offline IanB

• Super Contributor
Re: What determines PSU wattage?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2016, 11:14:25 pm »
All other things being equal, it is physical size.

You can make an analogy with many other things. For example, car engines. Bigger engines are more powerful than small engines when both engines are of the same type. However, if one engine is normally aspirated and the other engine is turbo-charged, then the smaller engine may be more powerful.

Thus it is with power supplies. If two PSUs are of the same basic design, then to get more power you have to make it bigger. But for example, if one PSU is based on a normal mains transformer and the other one is a switched mode supply, then the switched mode supply could easily be much smaller and lighter.