Author Topic: What is the most indestructible voltage regulator that won't fail short?  (Read 2431 times)

Offline seqcstTopic starter

• Contributor
I am extremely worried about my voltage regulator failing short and frying my electronics see: AMS1117 short circuit protection not working (https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/530181/ams1117-short-circuit-protection-not-working)

Some context: I'm a beginner at electronics I want to power a handful of 5V electronics - some passive infra red sensors which draw only 100-200 uA each, as well as some active radars which may draw around 100mA each.

Maximum current draw will be less than 300mA.

The datasheet on my PIR sensors say that a stabilized power supply is needed so I think I do need a voltage regulator to regulate the already-regulated output of my wall wart. Now I'm wondering which voltage regulator I should get and whether I should get a 6V or 7.5V wall wart.

The advantage of the 6V wall wart is that even if the voltage regulator fails short, it won't fry my components (which can tolerate up to 6V), whereas if voltage regulator fails short with the 7.5V power supply then the 7.5V input may fry my sensors.

But the advantage of the 7.5V power supply is that it allows me to chain two voltage regulators - maybe one LDO to step it down from 7.5V to 6V, and then another LDO to step it down from 6V to 5V? That sounds more complicated but it should result in a less noisy power supply? And also, having two voltage regulators provides some redundancy in case one of them fails short?

Originally I was thinking of using an Arduino Uno for powering my electronics but I've read many reports of the AMS1117 failing short so now I'm worried about buying an Arduino Uno since the Arduino Uno internally uses one of those AMS1117 voltage regulators and if that fails then my precious electronic components will be fried.