Author Topic: What kind of hardware do I need to make use of a 6-pin debug header?  (Read 706 times)

Offline sad_blimpTopic starter

Hello, I'm currently reverse engineering the firmware of a consumer ARM-Cortex M device which has a 6-pin debug header on its board. The service manual clearly labels it as such. I'm a little unsure what kind of hardware I need to interface with it. My end goal is to be able to use some software like GDB to 'debug' the firmware. I guess I'll need a JTAG/SWD probe? Can anyone give me a good recommendation for one that won't break the bank? I've been looking online and the options are all bit overwhelming.

Background: I'm a professional software engineer who's somewhat new to embedded software development. I understand low-level programming well, and I have a good deal of experience using debuggers in userspace. However I'm less experienced in the EE-related aspects of embedded. I've been learning a lot so far from this project. The firmware reverse-engineering is going quite well. I'd just like to improve my methodology. I've reverse-engineered some other firmware in the past by hand successfully.

Apologies for what may be a silly question, however I'm a little overwhelmed with the amount of information online. Any help steering me in the right direction would be appreciated!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2022, 09:47:03 am by sad_blimp »

Offline capt bullshot

• Super Contributor
    • Mostly useless stuff, but nice to have: wunderkis.de
There's a lot of cheap devices that you can use with OpenOCD. OpenOCD is the bridge from the hardware debugging device to gdb or other stuff. For STM32 it'll be an ST-Link v2, for example. These are available for maybe 20 Euros. Other hardware uses FTDI chips and works equally well with OpenOCD too.
For CortexM, you'll have to figure out the pinning of the connector first, afaik there's no standard for 6pin connectors. Then make an adapter to the standard 10pin or 20pin JTAG / SWD connector of your debugger.