Author Topic: What kind of pass element should I use in a linear psu with switching pre reg?  (Read 1566 times)

Offline FarrowTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello, I've searched around the web for this answer but with no avail. After examining many designs from the web and old hp service manuals, the combination of tap switching and dc-dc buck pre-regulator as the primary power conditioning method seems like the way to go in terms of efficiency.

Now the problem, PSRR. Which type pass element has the best PSRR? MOSFET, BJT or a Darlington?
I don't even know if this is a valid question, this is my first time looking at rejection radios in a device.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Thanks!

Offline Whales

• Super Contributor
    • Halestrom
It depends how you control said MOSFET, BJT or darlington.  With active feedback (eg an opamp) you can get really good PSRR until your feedback loop runs out of performance at higher frequencies.

I can think of some specific non-feedback* circuits where a MOSFET pass regulator would outperform a BJT pass regulator, but it really depends on your controlling circuit.

*technically an RC filter controlling an emitter follower might be perceived to have negative FB, it depends what level/method of modelling you're working at

« Last Edit: January 08, 2021, 09:55:24 am by Whales »

Offline CJay

• Super Contributor
I think it's less important than the overall circuit as long as the pass element is specified to be able to handle the current, voltage and is fast/slow enough (it needs to be fast enough but if it's too fast you might run the risk of it oscillating if the rest of the circuit isn't correct)

So, there's no right answer to which is best, they can all be good or bad if you haven't designed the rest of the circuit well.

• Contributor
With active feedback (eg an opamp) you can get really good PSRR until your feedback loop runs out of performance at higher frequencies.

Thank you for replying!