Author Topic: What range of capacitor values is appropriate for simple passive RC filters?  (Read 1607 times)

Offline ElectricolinTopic starter

Hello users,

Since this is my first time using this forum, and since English is not my native language, excuse me for any mistakes when posting/replying.

As my first real electrical engineering project, I was instructed to design and build a amplifier that has a minimal output of 1W by a load of 4 ohms and a load of 8 ohms. The product that I have to deliver must include: 3 band equalizer (low, mid and high) and a volume control; but I run into some issues because I do not have many experience in this field yet.

My question when designing a passive RC filter circuit, is the following:

What range of capacitor values is appropriate for using in a simple passive RC filter circuit? At first I was going to use a capacitor of: 1uF and a resistor of 160ohms for my low-pass filter to achieve a cut-off frequency of around ~1000Hz (I didn't choose this frequency myself, it is what I got instructed by my teacher).
The problem is, that I do not see any circuits online using capacitor values this high and when I search for the reason why to choose a higher resistor value to reduce the value of the capacitor, I don't really see the right answer that helps a electronics noob like me.

Can somebody please explain this to me at a understandable level?

Kinds regards,

Colin

Offline drdm

• Contributor
I usually go with resistors in the  kohm range (10k is my go to) and then pick a cap for the desired frequency.

The following users thanked this post: Electricolin

Online Circlotron

• Super Contributor
For a given type of construction, the greater the capacitor value the higher the cost. Resistor cost is generally constant, so higher resistance and lower capacitance equals lower cost.