Author Topic: When to consider MOSFET capacitance?  (Read 408 times)

Offline doublec4

• Regular Contributor
When to consider MOSFET capacitance?
« on: July 12, 2019, 09:59:34 pm »
Hi all,

So I have some experience using MOSFETs to control loads on/off with a microcontroller. I understand them enough to see them as a voltage controlled switching device in my layman's terms.

On the datasheet, and when searching some topics related to MOSFETs I occasionally come across someone referencing the "input capacitance" or other capacitance related to the MOSFET itself. For example, a quote from some other forum post, someone states: "You can omit the series resistor between the Arduino and the gate (because it is a small mosfet with low input capacitance)"
So why is this the case? 

I tried to look into when you would consider such things, but I can't seem to find a clear answer. I've found videos explaining the construction of a MOSFET and why the capacitance exists in different regions, but not when/why/how you would need to consider it in a design.

I imagine it would have an effect on the switching speed for high speed applications? For simple applications not requiring "high speed" (kind of subjective term I guess) is there any point where any of the capacitance properties come into play or would be considered too high / not desirable?

Thanks!

Offline SparkyFX

• Frequent Contributor
Re: When to consider MOSFET capacitance?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2019, 10:47:02 pm »
In applications in which you need to switch as fast as possible (or the power dissipation during switching will overheat the MOSFET), you want to drive the gate with enough energy in a short amount of time. That´s when the gate capacitance becomes important, which you need to overcome then.
Support your local planet.

The following users thanked this post: Psi

Offline TheHolyHorse

• Contributor
  • You don't need to be confused, just understand it.
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2019, 11:55:46 pm »