Author Topic: when to use upsampling?  (Read 1563 times)

Offline syntax333Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
when to use upsampling?
« on: December 09, 2022, 09:26:33 pm »
I am new to DSP realm. So this maybe very simple question.

I am working with 150 point signal which is sampled at 1Msps. The problem is whenever I design a filter using matlabs' filter design tool, I couldn't make a filter with enough filter settling time thus lose samples.

For example, I want to filter 5kHz. It takes 50 points to filter to settle down. Therefore, 50 points of my 150 point original signal becomes useless. Is this the time to use upsampling method?

Upsampling my 150 point signal 4 times thus getting 600 points then losing 50 points becomes more acceptable. What is the main purpose of upsampling? Is my case one of them?

Upsampling method I use is inserting zeros between sample points then lowpass filtering the signal.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2022, 09:55:02 pm by syntax333 »

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: when to use upsampling?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2022, 10:47:30 pm »
It is hard to tell without knowing the details, but If you upsample your signal, then your old filter design will no longer work, since sampling frequency has changed, so for the same filter design and coefficients its bandwidth would go up too.

If you want to avoid boundary conditions, it is common to extend the signal with a constant values equal to the first and last point. Or you can repeat the signal multiple times and then take the central part after the filtering.

And no matter what you do, all filters would have some delay.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2022, 10:50:03 pm by ataradov »
Alex

Online wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2022, 11:16:34 pm »
Have you confirmed that a lower spec filter using significantly less points would not be adequate?