Author Topic: Bought a Rigol DS1054Z Oscilloscope -true beginner- now learning  (Read 14556 times)

Offline Dutch RCTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Dutch RC Reviews
Edit: I bought a Rigol DS1054Z and fully unlocked it, Now trying to learn how everything works.

Hi all,

I'm a complete oscilloscope noob and have a few questions for you.

First some background details.
I'm from Holland 37yo trained as car mechanic when I was 16 with little electronics knowledge and now a process operator in a factory.
So just a little electronics knowledge.

My hobby is flying with drones and this is why I think I need an oscilloscope.

My plan is: Measuring FPV Camera latency like in this video

And I want to measure noise on the power system, Then reduce the noise in the video feed for better image.

I founf the video from Dave about the Rigol DS1054Z which looks a bit overkill for the things I want though because I don't know what else I can do with a scope and i want to get something future proof I think a 400/500 dollar limit should get me something very decent.

A local seller offers the Rigol for €400,- and for the same price they also offerd me a Owon XDS3064E. The standard specs look a little bit better for the Owon, So I searched for reviews and there aren't any.

Now my questions to you guys is this.

Do you have any advice for a scope up to 500 USD or should I pick the Rigol or Owon.
I'm aware you can get a old analog scope on Ebay though in my country I can't find any for a low price and when I can get one it's from another country and shipping is killing the fun.

Both are 4 channels, for now I need 2. For the future I don't know so 4 would be nice right?

Rigol DS1054Z https://www.rigolna.com/products/digital-oscilloscopes/1000z/
Bandwidth 50 MHz
Sample rate 1GS/s (250 MS/s 4 channels, 500 MS/s 2 channels)
Memory 12 Mpts
Waveform capture rate 30.000 wfm/s
Display 7" TFT, 800x480 pixels 160,000 colors