Author Topic: Why does my LED flash light has a transistor?  (Read 1253 times)

Offline KibelonTopic starter

Why does my LED flash light has a transistor?
« on: September 28, 2022, 07:56:02 pm »
I took apart this flashlight because it was very dim despite having a good battery. And I believe I've found the reason. The connection between the aluminum chassis and the circuit was terribly designed.
But apart from that... I'm completely surprised by the circuit I found. It has a transistor and I can't figure out what it is it doing there! It is a simple, dumb flashlight. I was expecting just a resistor.
The circuit seems to be this. The transistor is just there, parallel to the LED.

I'm no electronics engineer, and to me, it looks like is just wasting power. What is it doing? Is there any valid reason to have it there?

Thanks in advance.

Offline golden_labels

• Super Contributor
Re: Why does my LED flash light has a transistor?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2022, 08:15:06 pm »
Are you sure this is the entire circuit?

In that configuration it doesn’t even matter how the transistor is placed relative to the LED. As soon as the circuit is powered, there would be a short through transistor’s base, leading to its destruction.

Also, please post images as attachments. The “Attach” section in the bottom of the posting window. This way posts’ integrity is preserved and you do not leak information to 3rd parties.
People imagine AI as T1000. What we got so far is glorified T9.

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2022, 08:20:36 pm »
If your battery is just a single cell then it won't have enough voltage to power a white LED. The "transistor" might be a boost converter IC and the "resistor", an inductor.
Best Regards, Chris

Offline golden_labels

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2022, 08:24:56 pm »